Weekly Menu 5-23-12

Standard

One of the best things I ever learned from my mother was how to meal plan and make a grocery list properly.  I never knew what a gift this was until later in life watching people grabbing whatever they wanted into their carts or stressing about the infamous question, “What’s for dinner?”

My meal planning has several stages, but I’m going to discuss just step one tonight.  The first thing I do is set out the weekly schedule.  James has an odd retail work schedule that’s forever changing, there are always things going on at school or with the girls, and times when we have something special going on.  I recommend you keep a master family calendar somewhere.  Mine is best kept on my phone because it syncs with James’ phone.  Once the schedule for the week is laid out I can properly plan my meals.  When James closes, we have “quick meals.”  When he is home, we have more involved meals.  One reason is because it’s easier for two people to accomplish almost anything.  But it’s also because he’s the better cook out of the two of us.  🙂  I have “everyman” nights where it is everyman for him/herself.  There is also the newly installed leftover night because I’m sick of throwing away food.  Such a waste!

Next week I’ll post a sample meal plan with a schedule.  While waiting for that bit of gold, check out I’m an Organizing Junkie.  She has great ideas on Mondays for family meals.  

Cheers,

Buffie 🙂

About masseytribe

I'm a wife and mother of daughters that also happens to teach elementary school. I truly enjoy organization, but I'm learning to love DIY projects! I hope to see 2012 as the year that I make my house what I've always dreamed it could be.

Leave a Reply

